Resolution Monday: Finish My To-Do Lists

I love to-do lists. In fact, I love them so much that I come up with a new 20-point list every day. These lists help me to see my daily tasks. Also, by looking at a number of manageable tasks on a piece of paper, I actually feel less overwhelmed by the actual number of tasks, and more energetic along the lines of “yes, I can totally do this!”

to-do-list-graphicAs great as that sounds, the problem is that I never finish my to-do lists. Sure, I check off one or two, or sometimes even three or four items off the list, but I can’t remember a day when I have actually completed all my tasks. This means, my to-do lists get longer and longer every day (I am at 40+ tasks today … mainly, only because I trashed my old to-do list a week ago, and started a new one this weekend). While other people might live very happy and relaxed lives with half-finished to-do lists, I am not one of them. As a person that definitely belongs on the higher end of the OCD spectrum (to put it lightly), anything that is unfinished makes me jittery, anxious and tense – especially if I set out to complete the tasks myself. It’s just too nerve wracking, and I’ve had enough. This unfinished to-do list business has to stop!!!

Therefore, this Monday’s resolution is to finish my to-do lists.

The only problem with that resolution is, I don’t know how! Do I put less items on the list? Do I add the gazillion extra tasks that come up during a day and check them, just so it seems I got more things done? Do I trash the list at the end of the day, and just accept that I can never get everything done? Should I stop making to-do lists altogether?

What do you guys do? How do you finish your to-do lists? How do you feel in general about to-do lists? I am really and truly happy and thankful about any (and I mean ANY) advice!

P.S. Yes, writing the resolution Monday post was on my to-do list, and I just checked it off the list.

Leave a Reply

