2014 in the Rear View Mirror

It’s the time of the end of the year emails again. My inbox is piling up with emails such as: best books of the year or a year with the Kardashians or 2014 in pictures or 2014’s most memborable YouTube videos. While I could care less about what the Kardashians have been up to for the past 12 months, these emails made me pause for a moment and look back on my own year of 2014. What have I done? Where have I been? What have I learned? I see a year full of family and friends (old and new), a year that bursts with plenty of travel adventures, a year of growing and a year full of love. I am filled with gratitude, as I realize how lucky I am. A big THANK YOU to my parents, friends, loved ones (one of them especially), and all the wonderful people that have made my year so joyful. I love you all! You are all a big part of what made the last year so wonderful, so I want to remember as many beautiful moments as I can by taking a look the rear view mirror of my 2014.

January

IMG_0137

Kicking off the year in Medellín, Colombia.

February

IMG_1414

The first and almost only time in 2014 where I took 4 days off work and just enjoyed this beautiful place (Parque Tayrona, Colombia). No internet, no phones, just sun and waves and good vibes. This is what paradise must be like!

March

IMG_1900 IMG_1593

Ecuadorian rain forest. The overabundance of nature made me feel very humble and sad. I realized that we are just one (small) part of this beautiful planet, but we are also constantly destroying it,without appreciating what we have.

April

Arriving in Spain. Back in Europe. Back “home”. If I have ever had a feeling of belonging, this continent is it.

IMG_0919IMG_0902IMG_1453

May

Morocco. The biggest culture shock of my life. I feel out of place, a fish out of water: Uncomfortable and at all times aware of being different. A fellow traveler once said to me “I don’t like traveling to places where everything feels so easy and comfortable.” You never learn more than when you’re out of your element. Most shocking, but also most memorable and one of the most beautiful travel experiences.

IMG_2998   IMG_0064

June

Discovering that Southern Spain can look like North Dakota.

IMG_0512 IMG_0516 IMG_0524

July

Turkey. Country of the friendliest and most hospitable people, country of amazing food and even more amazing landscapes and cities. One of the biggest highlights of this year’s travels.

IMG_2225 IMG_1585 IMG_1853

August

IMG_2489

Woodstock Festival, Poland with 30.000 people. My biggest festival experience so far (and yes, 30.000 is a crowd).

September

Exploring the Balkans. A month of heavy history, from the Ottoman Empire to the heaviness of the Balkan war. Even though you can never quite escape the sad recent past,  you can still feel the hope and joy through the fine veil of melancholia.

IMG_1215 IMG_1532 IMG_1069IMG_1574

October

Albania. As I expected a ravishingly beautiful country, I was somewhat disappointed by a landscape of gas stations, car washes and a constant cloud of grey dust. But the friendly Albanians, the best Turkish sweets I have ever had and a gem called Girokaster made up for it.

IMG_4756 IMG_4768

November

Back in Cincinnati with family and friends, and I don’t exaggerate if I say that I spent probably 70% of this month sleeping.

IMG_5327

December

Ending this eventful year with the joys of Christmas.

IMG_5490 IMG_5500 IMG_5608

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

