Where did all the travel stories go?

It’s been awfully quiet around this site for the past 7 months. Why?

question mark

Because I realized that even though I might call myself a (wannabe) travel blogger, I simply don’t have the time to blog while I am traveling. I am seriously at awe at how others do it, and please, feel welcome to share your travel blogging secrets with me, because I just can’t write and travel at the same time. Mainly, because a typical Wanderstrudel day looks like this: get up really early, typically any time between 6 AM and 8 AM. (Yes, mom and dad, I actually CAN get up before 10 AM!) Pack my bags. Run to catch a bus/train/plane/ride. Arrive at a bus station/train station/airport and figure out WHERE the heck we are on the map. Fight for the next 20 minutes about where we have to go. Walk up some really steep steps / struggle with my giant backpack along narrow, windy roads. Going in the wrong direction for 30 minutes and fight and cuss some more as we try to find our hostel or Couchsurfing host. Spending the rest of the day sightseeing. Spending the evening hanging out with fellow travelers or our Couchsurfing hosts. Working at night until I can’t keep my eyes open any more. Sure, there are some (rare and cherished) moments where I actually have some free time. This is when I try to upload photos, or figure out where we are going to sleep tomorrow night, or find out what there is to see at our next destination, or how to GET to that destination or WHAT the next destination will be, or email my worried parents because they haven’t heard from me in days and probably think I got abducted by the Albanian mafia (yes, I do have to write an email to my mom pretty much every day!). In other words: traveling is more stressful than you think, and in my case it keeps me busy 24/7. So please forgive me if I haven’t posted a lot, but rest assured, now that our amazing Europe trip has come to an end, I have many, many stories waiting for you, and finally I also have the time to share them with the world. Or, at least with the 20 or so people that have been patient enough and still read this blog. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Where did all the travel stories go?

Leave a Reply

